Columbus’ Best Ohio Concealed Carry Class
$90 One-Day Classes With the Law Taught by Attorney Ken Hanson
No Hidden Fees and Our Training Covers More States!
Click on a date to register:
- January 20, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- January 27, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- February 3, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- February 17, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- February 19, 2018 Monday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- February 24, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- March 3, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- March 10, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- March 13, 2018 Tuesday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- March 17, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- March 24, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- April 7, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- April 9, 2018 Monday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- April 14, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- April 21, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
- April 28, 2018 Saturday (Canal Winchester, OH) – More than 15 Seats Available
May 2018 and more dates to come!
How to Get an Ohio Concealed Handgun Carry (CCW) License
- Must be at least 21 years old to get license (can take training as long as you’re at least 18).
- Complete the Ohio required 8 hours of training within 3 years.
- Apply for the Ohio concealed handgun license at your county or an adjoining county’s sheriff’s office.
Local Sheriff contacts: Franklin County Sheriff 614-525-5090, Delaware County Sheriff (740) 833-2801, Madison County Sherif (740) 852-1332, Fairfield County Sheriff 740-652-7321 or 740-652-7320, Licking County Sheriff 740-670-5508, Pickaway County Sheriff 740-477-6156 or 1-800-472-5245.
Armed2Defend’s top rated Ohio concealed carry class is guaranteed to meet the Ohio CCW training requirement. Ohio’s CCW license is currently honored in 39 states for concealed carry (http://www.handgunlaw.us/states/ohio.pdf).
Why Choose Armed2Defend? Armed2Defend has trained over 15,000 here in Columbus Ohio and is a family owned and operated business lead by Chief Instructor Kevin Sadeski. The individualized high quality of training from our class is reflected in the five star reviews given by our graduates on Yelp, Facebook, Google+, and other review sites. Armed2Defend the first trainer in the nation to win the coveted Angie’s List Super Service Award and they have won it the past three years. They were also the top NRA certified instructor in the nation for NRA membership recruiting for the past three years. Armed2Defend truly is the top rated CCW training program in Columbus Ohio.
What if I’ve never shot a gun before? There are no prerequisites to taking this training. We will start the training at a beginner level and more than half the students who take the training are beginners. At the range we’ll divide the training based on abilities for beginner, intermediate and advanced shooters. That way we can customize the training to meet each student’s needs.
Class Fee: Limited Time Special Only $90, Save $60.
Course Length: Ohio requires 8 hours of handgun training. Our classes are completed in one day and they go from 9 am till 5:30 pm unless if otherwise specified. Typically the classroom portion is from 9 am till 3 pm. The range portion is from 3:30 to 5:30 pm.
Location: The classroom location is given on the registration site. It is typically held at the South Gate Potter’s Lodge at 651 Groveport Pike, Canal Winchester, OH 43110. Some of our classes are held at the Donatos Pizza at 1815 Brice Rd Reynoldsburg OH 43068. Our private shooting range is in Canal Winchester and a map to the range is given at the class.
Do I need to own a gun? You can either provide your pistol and 50 rounds of ammunition or we’ll provide a 22 caliber pistol and ammo for the training at no additional cost. We also loan eye and ear protection for free. If you would like to do the intermediate and advanced range training you will need to provide your own pistol and 50 rounds of ammunition.
Food and Drinks: You can pack a lunch, snacks, and drinks or you can purchase the optional lunch. We do not take a lunch break so you won’t be able to leave for lunch.
Legal Presentation: Our class is different from many other classes because we include an hour legal presentation by an attorney who specializes in firearm laws. Attorney Ken Hanson typically gives a live legal presentation. However, there are some classes where he’s unavailable and we have to show a video recording of one of his previous presentations.
Will I get my license the same day? Just like the only place to get a driver’s license is the BMV, the only place you can get a concealed carry license is the Sheriff’s Office. You will not have a concealed carry license until you take this next step. You will receive a certificate of completion from Armed2Defend as you leave the class. You will show this when you go to the Sheriff’s office as your proof of completing 8 hours of training.
You have the option of applying in the county you live in or a county that touches your county. Most counties require you to make an appointment. (Madison county is the only one I know of that allows walk-ins.) All counties do things differently so any questions about this process should be directed to the Sheriff’s Office you will be applying at.
The license you get is a 5 year license. At the end of that 5 years you will just submit a renewal application for another 5 year license with the Sheriff’s office (no retraining is required).
You have 3 years from the date of training to apply with the Sheriff. If you do not apply within the 3 years, you will have to repeat the entire training.
Which states will my Ohio license be good in? The term used for describing which states honor other state’s concealed carry licenses is “Reciprocity”. Reciprocity agreements do change so it is something you always want to reconfirm before traveling. Currently, the Ohio license is honored in 39 different states. (The states not covered are: California, Oregon, Illinois, New York, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Maryland & Hawaii).
The Ohio Attorney General’s website has a great clickable map that will show you which states your license is honored in and more details about the reciprocity agreements with each state.