How to Get the Ohio Concealed Carry License
This Page will explain the process on how to get the Ohio Concealed Carry License. Ohio also refers to it as the Ohio CHL (concealed handgun license) or CCW (carrying a concealed weapon) license. Unlike some states however, the Ohio concealed handgun license is specifically for handguns. It does not cover any other firearms or weapons.
The following information is taken from the Ohio Attorney General’s Concealed Carry Law Manual (Revised 3/11/15). The Attorney General maintains this law summary to simplify the Ohio concealed carry laws. Latest version can be found here: http://armed2defend.com/attorney-general-application-link/.
Training and Competency Certification
Proof of competency training can be in one of the following forms:
- A certificate of completion of a firearms safety course that was offered by or under the auspices of a national gun advocacy organization. A sheriff issuing a license must determine if an organization qualifies. The course must meet certain minimum educational requirements (See the section of this publication titled, “Minimum Educational Requirements” for additional information about the specific areas that must be covered in training.); or
- A certificate of completion of a class that was open to the public that used instructors approved by a national gun advocacy organization or Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC), or approved instructors of another state and was offered under the authority of a law enforcement agency of Ohio or another state, college, or firearms training school that meets the minimum educational requirements; or
- A certificate of completion of a state, county, municipal, or Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) peace officer training school that is approved by the executive director of OPOTC that complies with the law’s training requirements and meets the minimum educational requirements; or
- A document that shows the applicant is an active or reserve member of the armed forces, has retired from, or was honorably discharged, or is a retired highway patrol trooper, or is a retired peace officer or federal law enforcement officer and who, through the position, acquired experience with handguns or other firearms that was equivalent to the minimum educational requirements; or
- A certificate of completion of a class not otherwise described in this publication that was conducted by an instructor who was certified by an official or entity of Ohio, another state, the United States government, or a national gun advocacy organization that complies with the minimum educational requirements; or
- An affidavit from a qualified instructor that attests to the applicant’s completion of a course that satisfied the minimum educational requirements; or
- A document that shows the applicant has successfully completed the Ohio Peace Officer Training Program contained in ORC 109.79.
Statutory Reference(s): The types of competency certifications are described in ORC 2923.125(B)(3)(a)–(g).
Minimum Education Requirements
The law sets out minimum educational requirements that are a component of the various forms of competency certification as set forth on page 2. The total time required for training is 8 hours: 10 hours of instruction and another 2 hours of in-person training that consists of range time and life-fire training.
The law requires certified training in the following matters:
• The ability to name, explain, and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition;
• The ability to demonstrate and explain how to handle ammunition in a safe manner;
• The ability to demonstrate the knowledge, skills, and attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner;
• Gun-handling training.
Additionally, you must have two hours of practical training, including range time and live-fire experience. The applicant also must complete an examination that tests his competency. The test must include a written section on the ability to name and explain the rules for the safe handling of a handgun and proper storage practices for handguns and ammunition. Additionally, the exam must include a physical demonstration of competency on handgun usage and rules for safe handling and storage of a handgun. It also must require a physical demonstration of the attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner.
As part of the training, applicants also must receive and certify that they have reviewed a copy of this publication.
The Application Process
To begin the application process, you must apply to the sheriff in the county where you reside or an adjoining county. Before you apply with your local sheriff, call ahead to determine the times applications are accepted and confirm what documentation may be necessary.
The minimum fee for a background check and license is $67. You must provide evidence of your competency certification as described above and certify that you have read this publication. Applicants also must submit their fingerprints, which are necessary to conduct the background check.
Here is the link to the Ohio concealed carry license application: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Law-Enforcement/Concealed-Carry-License-and-Renewal-Application-(P.aspx
Here is the link to the Ohio Attorney General’s Summary on the Ohio Concealed Carry Laws: http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/getattachment/0cf581f3-5141-47ae-8393-38328104e82f/Concealed-Carry-Laws-Manual-(PDF).aspx
Ready to Take the Training?
This page has the details on Armed2Defend’s concealed carry classes and the available class dates. Please click on a date to get the information for that date and to register. http://armed2defend.com/classes/ohio-concealed-carry-training/
Want to Become an Ohio Concealed Carry Instructor?
This page has the steps to become a conceal carry instructor. http://armed2defend.com/nra-pistol-instructor-training/
Other NRA Certified Instructor and Range Safety Officer (RSO) training can be found on this page. http://armed2defend.com/classes/nra-instructions-range-officer-training/